NBC News: Why Iowa Matters in the Democratic Party Nomination for President

There have been seven competitive races for the Democratic presidential nomination in that time. And in those seven, the winner of the Iowa caucuses has gone on to become the nominee. Jimmy Carter (1976 and 1980); Walter Mondale (1984); Al Gore (2000); John Kerry (2004); Barack Obama (2008); and Hillary Clinton (2016).

Notably, that list includes the four most recent competitive races. By contrast, the top finisher in the New Hampshire primary since 1972 has gone on to win the nomination five times, with two recent misses (Hillary Clinton in 2008 and Sanders in ’16, both New Hampshire winners who didn’t get the nomination).


You may also like...

Leave a Reply